日記


---back to main

july 01 2020

On the need of a value system.

Two months have passed since the last update...??


Externally I suppose not much has changed, but internally I've hit some milestones at least. I filled out a sketchbook, read my first comic series in native Japanese, started jogging near-daily... Getting used to, and finding my place at work as well, perusing time off to learn and read. I guess that's the difference daily structures can make--- it gives one the opportunity to plan ones leisure activities with intent (The irregular hours at my previous job used to drive me to tears lol.)

I've been doing awhole lotta ruminating on how to improve my quality of life. One of the things that's been of great use has been defining my value system in concrete terms. My values are as follows:

In deciding what actions to take on a day to day basis, remembering my core values helps override executive dysfunction disorder:

Weaknesses in key mental skills that are responsible for attention, memory, organization and time management, and flexible thinking.
AFAIK executive dysfunction is most commonly linked to ADHD, but I myself was officialy diagnosed with ASD. I consider ADD and ASD as cousins though. lol.

At first glance it might seem self-satisfaction and being compassionate would clash, but for me there's nothing more beautiful, more aesthethical, than being able to empathize with someone that... might not be deserving of it at all. Heh. Does that sound a little smug? Well, I think there's beauty in that too! Being ruthless to me is... having no doubts about one's actions. Whether you want me to or not, I'm gonna be RUITHLESSLY COMPASSIONATE TO YOU. And so on and so on. *Sniff*

Patron saint of self-satisfaction, Yugami Yuuji Patron saint of self-satisfaction and ruthlessly cutting the fat out of life: Yugami Yuuji

It's truelly fortunate that the first comic series I would fully enjoy in Japanese would assist in aligning my values to this degree. Yugami Yuuji ((protagonist of "Yugami-kun has no friends") is a young man that lives a completely self-satisfactory life... warts and all. Maybe in the future I'll write more on the series. Other pieces of media and literature that have been of inspiration to me...the various writings of Cal Newport... ... anyway...

I'm running out of steam here but I'm gonna try and build a more modern system for my blog....sob...


april 01 2020

CSS Test...

Parapgraph 1
I'm still not really sure about the box sizing, I like that it's cosy like this...

Paragraph 3 picture of color scheme



[22/03/2020]

photo of a day out

A few pictures from a day out of town. The caramel walnut pie is from a popular place in the city of Utrecht. A bit of miso was added for a savoury note. I liked it a lot! The cortado coffee was nice too, I wasn't familiar but my friend sitting across from me is a barista, so she explained it to me patiently.

"A cortado (also known as "pingado" or "garoto") is an espresso "cut" (from the Spanish and Portuguese cortar) with warm milk to reduce the acidity. The ratio of milk to coffee is between 1:1 – 1:2, and the milk is added to the espresso.

I appreciate there is little to no foam in the milk...


Of course I had to share this classic Nichijou sketch with her as well.

To be honest, I don't mind so much that I will have to go out less now. Leaving town every weekend started feeling like a chore at some point. Not to mention it will be easier to save up money now. But the densha ota in me will miss riding the train, staring outside the window, and zoning out...

another photo of a day out



[21/03/2020]


magnolia tree in bloom

Yesterday I went for a last round of stock up. I'm relieved that in the case that I do fall ill to the virus, I will be able to survive just fine on my own for a good few weeks. Food prep is my hobby after all.

Currently about +/-3000 people are infected here in NL, and about 1/3 is from the province that I inhabbit, so from now on I won't leave the house (except for work)



But no matter what happens, Goma will nurse me back to health!!



[17/03/2020]

white blossoms in spring


On my way to work I always pass by these pretty blossoms, I've always wanted to picnic underneath the trees but it's a bit akward since it's so close to where ppl actually live lol

japanese style lunch
I've been experimenting with freezing pre-packed bento's. Pictured here is JPN style curry rice, tofu meat burger, carrot&black sesame and pickled cucumber. I love homemade pickles but they do kinda stink up the office...

my cat goma
Just let me stay home with my baby already please...



[16/03/2020]


I took this picture of Goma when I came home from the office today.

cat sitting on me

Our PM gave a speech this evening.
I'm a little bummed we're not in full lockdown mode; LET ME LIVE HERMIT REALNESS ALREADY DAMNIT!!!



[15/03/2020]
zizek is cool. we should all be more like zizek.



[14/03/2020]

WADDUP!!!